Most people or, it’s the baseball that has the grip on me..

Most people would not choose to fly to New York in the dead of winter, AFTER Christmas.  Most people flying to NY would at least visit Manhattan, stay in Manhattan or Brooklyn.  That’s most people..

Me..i’m flying into Kennedy in a few hours, then taking the Air Train to Jamaica Plains (not THAT Jamaica, the warm one..) so that I can board a Long Island Railroad train to Babylon, Long Island.

Yes, for me, it’s Babylon revisited.  I get to hang out with a bunch of guys who are baseball idiots such as myself.  We play a game called APBA (baseball simulation game with board and computer version). It’s a little geeky.  My apathy meter re being geeky vis’ a vis’ baseball is in the red.  I just don’t care a’tall.  I love the game.  I love my baseball buddies.  Our group is comprised of an ex-cop, a judge, two Fox TV sports directors, a salesman, a contractor, a chaplain, sports copy writer for a paper in Westchester and a few other odds and ends including state employees.   Our commonality is mostly baseball..in this case, that’s all that matters.  I don’t know how these guys are going to vote in the primaries or the general election.  I could care less.

I do hope my team will kick their ass in our draft…other than, let the good times roll like the river.

Adios for a few days…

Me

5 Comments

Filed under baseball, friends and family

5 responses to “Most people or, it’s the baseball that has the grip on me..

  1. Pingback: Democrats @ 2008 Presidential Election » Most people or, it’s the baseball that has the grip on me..

  2. Pingback: baseball » Most people or, it’s the baseball that has the grip on me..

  3. Hutch that sounds wonderful, I am so jealous. I too have the geekiness tendencies and appreciate what you are doing. Good luck!

  4. Pingback: Nashville is Talking » Baseball vs. Politics

Leave a Reply

