Why don’t we just give them Texas – $10,000,000,000 isn’t enough??

In a stunning example of corporate welfare in a time when congress is supposedly scouring the budget for things to cut, House Republicans recently ramrodded an energy bill through Congress that would give financial incentives to energy companies to encourage them to build new refineries. Considering that EXXON made TEN BILLION dollars in profits this past quarter ($110,000,000 PER DAY) I’m thinking that they oughta build their own damn refineries on their own dime. Do any of the House Republicans that voted for this have any shame? These profits were made largely on the back of the hurricane tragedy. I understand that US refinery capacity is not high enough but the capacity was exactly the same when gas was $2.10 a gallon. Price spikes were understandable but price gouging should be condemned. Ironically the bill encouraging new refineries contains language against price gouging…fines up to $11,000 per infraction…whooooooooooo scary!

When Bush was running for President he chastized Clinton for not using his power to ‘jawbone’ OPEC about the high price of oil: “What I think the president ought to do [when gas prices spike] is he ought to get on the phone with the OPEC cartel and say we expect you to open your spigots…And the president of the United States must jawbone OPEC members to lower the price.”

I’m wondering when the jawboning is going to begin? ‘m waiting with bated breath for that phone call from Bush to EXXON…

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Why don’t we just give them Texas – $10,000,000,000 isn’t enough??

  1. As a college student yet alone an American, it’s sometimes hard to believe that I am surviving. I am rather an independent person and to have to ask someone to bring me somewhere gives me migraines. I’m not that bashful but gas is quite expensive these days amd it’s sometimes hard to come up wit the means to support automobile transportation.I don’t like to waste people’s gas.
    Many times I’ve contemplated just how nice and less stressful life would be if I had a car. I could run to Taco Bell at midnight to satisfy my crunch wrap supreme craving (they’re awesome)or at my pleasure check out if there are any discounts at Express. Those days are long gone as I have moved away from home and no longer can free load off of my parent’s car.
    On the serious side(all though Taco Bell and Express are essential to true happiness), because I have no way of transportation I have yet to go home a weekend to my hometown Orlando. I have not seen my family for a couple of months. Also, my tortorous amount of patience is manifested when I have to wait around for a ride to bring me home while I have an assignment due in a couple of hours.
    These days I’m satisfied with what I have and the lack thereof. I have a school shuttle system that takes me to key points around the campus and town and have friends who don’t mind bringing me places when I ask.I’m at peace that I don’t have a car because quite frankly I don’t have to make any car payments, insurance payments, and cry over how much i’m spending on gas. When I have the adequate funds I’ll by a car and enjoy these issues of life. Until then, I’ll treat myself to as much Taco Bell and Express as I want (if the shuttle is still running).

  2. Unique blog my friend, I can hardly wait to vist
    this site again. I just worship the site its comes
    from! Believe me in my extra time I’m consistently
    looking up blogs like this.
    I want you to stop and compare with my incorporate in nevada blog.

  3. Astonshing blog. I relished in the site and you
    know I will be going to it again! Surfing the internet
    hepls me to find blogs that arfe just as good.
    Please consider looking at my in incorporate nevada blog.

  4. Creative blog. I just kept looking at it over and
    over! Im always looking for blogs like this!
    Check out my blog, please!

  5. Anonymous

    the spigots must be open. we never really run low on supply, we’re just told that we are. you gotta sell alot of gas at a higher price then necessary to make 110,000,000
    bucks per day. but dont worry, the current administration will look out for our well being, not like that Clinton gang. Those are the guys that kept inflation down, surplus up and America out of Major conflicts. GAS UP America, its your economic duty to ensure freedom

Leave a Reply

