Blogging from Beirut

Thanks to Clicked, I found the blog of a cartoonist, musician Mazen Kerban. The blog is called Kerblog. I understand that there are probably bloggers and cartoonists who tell a similiar story from the Israeli side. Kerban’s cartoons give us a perspective we don’t get to see very often.

The cartoon to the left is entitled Qana (we know it as Cana). I do know that what happened at Qana puts the lie to the story that the Israelis are only bombing strategic targets. I understand that a temporary cease fire may be in effect now as a result of this tragedy.

What I do not understand is why it takes this kind of a tragedy to get to a cease-fire. I also understand that the Arab world was largely critical of the Hezbollah movement until the bombing started. Is this what Israel REALLY wants?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Blogging from Beirut

  1. I love art. Thanks for sharing. When I move into my new house I am going to have a paint studio in the garage. I went into this coffee house in downtown this weekend and there is an artist who paints comic strips on large boards and sells them as art. I was inspired.

  2. Anonymous

    Some 150 rockets were fired from the Lebanese village of Qana over the past 20 days, Air Force Chief of Staff Brig.-Gen. Amir Eshel said on Sunday evening.

    Speaking to reporters, Eshel added that Hizbullah rocket launchers were hidden in civilian buildings in the village. He proceeded to show video footage of rocket launchers being driven into the village following launches.

    http://tinyurl.com/pjuq9

    Article 28 of the 4th Geneva Convention:

    The presence of a protected person may not be used to render certain points or areas immune from military operations.

    So the civilian casualties are, under the Geneva Convention, Hezbollah’s responsibility.

Leave a Reply

