What’s the difference between Rush Limbaugh and the Hindenberg?

One is a large Nazi gasbag and the other is just a blimp. An old joke, I realize, but one I felt worth resurrecting thanks to Limbaugh’s attack on Michael J. Fox. If you haven’t seen the clip, go HERE.

Limbaugh’s attack is so far beneath contempt that you can’t make out the letters. Making fun of folks with Parkinson’s is right up there with cracking wise about what brand of ovens the Jews preferred for their incineration.

Fox is sincere about his wish for federal funding for stem cell research. You may not agree, but you have to respect his position. He has every right to endorse a candidate who promises to vote for federal funding for such, and he has a right to endorse that candidate without being called a shill or being lampooned by the four-time-married-pill-popping-holier-than-thou ASSHOLE.

Too bad that Christopher Reeve has already passed on…there was a gold mine of material there..

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “What’s the difference between Rush Limbaugh and the Hindenberg?

  1. Why didn’t Superman save the World Trade Center?

    He’s in a fucking wheelchair!

    What actor does Christopher Reeve most want to be?

    Christopher Walken!

    Ahhh, good times.

    Now as much as I agree that Limbaugh is a fat, gutless, draft-dodging, pill-popping douche bag, he isn’t exactly wrong.

    The public sentiment and sympathy for Fox is so much so that to disagree with him in public is considered contemptuous behavior.

    The Dems are smart to put him in the ads to play on the sympathy we have for a television star with a disease.

    Even though the ad is patently manipulative and tantamount to emotional blackmail, Fox has every right to endorse candidates who promote his cause. Just as Limbaugh has every right to criticize it.

  2. I kinda thought Alex P. Keaton was overembellishing it a little myself, however, I’d have never said it the way Rush did.

    Then again, I feel bad for thinking that it’s a possibility he was shaking things up.

  3. I think you can disagree with Fox without saying he’s faking his symptoms. It’s not the disagreement, but the manner of the disagreement that chaps my ass.

    I don’t think that Fox should be disqualified from speaking on this issue just because he is sympathetic.

  4. I haven’t seen the clip, because for the last 10 years I have boycotted anything to do with Limbaugh.

    That said, I think that some criticism can be made of celebrated people using their fame from one arena to cajole the common folk on a different issue. Whether Meryl Streep on apples, Geldof on Africa or Fox on stem cell research, it’s a bit of a cheat in my opinion.

    Of course, I’m sure that Limbaugh used his tried and true tactic of acting the ass when raising a legitimate point–hence my boycotting of the man.

  5. Kat – I’m with ya on Streep and Geldorf, but Fox does indeed have Parkinson’s, and there are plenty of scientists who believe that embryonic stem cells can eventually be used to treat Parkinson’s…therefore, it seems to me that Fox has ‘standing’ to speak on this issue and/or support candidates who promise to vote ‘his’ way on that issue.

    Much different to me than when Streep was shopping for an issue and came up with the infamous ‘alar’ problem. I see a large difference between Streep and Fox here.

  6. Yesterday on msn.com, the had a headline that read “Stem Cell Stars”. Try saying that three times fast!

  7. He shouldn’t be disqualified from speaking as a sympathetic celebrity. Just as he shouldn’t receive Special Celebrity Immunity from criticism by the same virtue.

    To quote the Gas Bag, “I think when anyone climbs into the arena of ideas, the political arena of ideas, particularly during a heated campaign; they do not get the special privilege of being the only fighter allowed to throw a punch. There are not special people among us who get to enter the political arena of ideas and say whatever they want.”

  8. But, shouldn’t the criticism be largely based on his position on the subject, rather than the fact he moves and speaks oddly.

    I rarely pay attention to the celebrity spokespeople on pretty much any issue, because their celebrity no more qualifies them to be heard than my interest in baseball qualifies me to pitch for the Yankees.

    In this case, as I stated above, Fox does have some special standing here..he has a disease and he is well known for raising money and consciousness about the disease. It seems natural that he would speak out for someone who is supporting federally funded stem cell.

    I don’t think he’s immune from criticism, or should be immune..i question the means of the criticism I’ve heard from the likes of the GASBAG.

  9. I agree, Hutch. He should be allowed to speak. I just think that he should be allowed to speak as a lay person. Unfortunately, Fox’s celebrity confers upon him an aura of credibility that seems to bleed over into areas where he is NOT an expert.

    I have endometriosis. I am not an expert on gynocological treatment. If I were a celebrity speaking on the issue there would doubtless be people making up their minds on the issue solely because I–with my lofty perch of celebrity–spoke about it.

    Same thing with Fox. I won’t attack the man, but I will attack his position. I don’t think it’s legitimate to call for new lines of harvested embryos to research a tentative science. We don’t perform human sacrifice in this country. Not even for the Gods of celebrity.

    Now I’m all for non-sacrificial stem cell research. Unfortunately Mr. Fox is not of the same opinion. While we both have chronic illnesses that may benefit from stem cell research I’m still of the opinion that there is more than one way to skin a cat.

    I stand by my belief that Limbaugh is a poor spokesman. While he may get the general idea (celebrities should be subject to as much doubt as non-famous amici), he certainly is completely unable to himself raise the level of debate.

Leave a Reply

