Stormy Monday – Anniversary of Duane Allman’s death

Thirty-five years ago today, Duane Allman (Allman Joys, Allman Brothers) died in a motorcycle wreck. It’s hard to really hear the song “Layla” anymore because it’s been played 6 jillion times on classic radio, but if you listen to it closely and forget that you’ve heard it before, you’ll be hearing one of the greatest guitar ‘duels’ ever recorded. That’s Duane stinging Clapton.

Pick up the remastered verion of ‘Fillmore East’ and listen to Statesboro Blues. Find the old Boz Scaggs album/CD and listen to ‘Loan me a Dime’ or download ‘Hey Jude’ by Wilson Pickett..that’s Duane on guitar. Duane perfected the bottle-neck slide guitar sound that weaves through most of the great soul classics recorded in Muscle Shoals, Alabama (including Aretha Franklin’s sessions).

“For a slide, I’ve always used a glass Coricidin bottle, just like Duane Allman. He told me that a bottle sounds different than a steel slide, and I think it does, so I copied him. Duane was one of my heroes and, in my opinion, he was the best slide player who ever lived. He had such a great touch. He was always on pitch – never sharp or flat – and that’s hard to do.” — Gary Rossington (of Lynyrd Skynyrd from Guitar Player Interview 03/99)

Duane understood that you didn’t have to play 300 notes in 10 seconds..he understood space between notes and the drama of holding back. Rolling Stone named him the 2nd best guitar player of all time..some may disagree, but I’ll take him over Clapton any day of the week.

R.I.P guitar god….

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Stormy Monday – Anniversary of Duane Allman’s death

  1. Back when Duane was living in Muscle Shoals and recording with Wilson and Boz he lived in a shack outside of town without the benefit of electricity. He kept all his stuff at the studio and stayed in this tiny shack with only an acoustic.

  2. Technically a little before my music-listening time, because I am such a spry young thing ya know, but still a great song and one I probably have heard countless times without giving any thought to the dueling guitars. I just had to go dig up a version so I could have me a listen. Nice (not that I coudl figure out who was playing what), but nice. 🙂

  3. Did a lot of rambling myself on Highway 41 in Georgia.

  4. http://thedryspot.blogspot.com/2006/04/macon-no-sense.html

    My tribute to your tribute.

    I’ll pull out some vinyl this weekend. Duane sounds better with hiss and pops.

Leave a Reply

