4.5 degrees of separation, or less separation for me with Memphis

One of the abiding cliches of the last twenty years or so is that we are all connected (at least here in North America) by no more than six people. The world of trivia boggled when it seemed like Kevin Bacon was in every movie in the 1980s and 1990s, thus spawning various versions of the ‘6 Degrees of Kevin Bacon’ game.

Aside: Kevin Bacon isn’t even in the top 100 of actors that are the most ‘connected’. The late great Rod Steiger wins that ‘honor’ hands down.

Anyway, back to the rambled-to point. I’m thinking the internet has lessened our separateness – maybe not soul-wise and spiritually – but certainly in some sort of communal way. Blogs bring people together who have never met and then they discover they worked at the same place virtually days apart. I discovered that one of my older son’s best friends is the son of Kerry Woo aka Wonderdawg.

I’m leaving for Memphis in a few minutes for a few days. I’m hoping to have dinner with Lynnster tomorrow night and maybe some lunch with Lindsey on Tuesday. These are people that I probably wouldn’t meet in the proverbial 100 years if it wasn’t for the blog-a-teria.

Back in the late 90’s I spent a LOT of time in Memphis. We were installing a then-new software system in the Memphis-Shelby county Health Department. I made several friends during that time. Most of them no longer live in Memphis or work for the Health Department any longer. Basically, I’m down to two people I really know in the entire city of Memphis. Memphis is home to LOTS of people.

What are the odds that Lynnster knows one of these two people..I dunno, but she does and we are all having dinner tomorrow night. Go figure.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “4.5 degrees of separation, or less separation for me with Memphis

  1. Have fun with the Lynnster.
    She’s a Camden girl, which is Northwest Tennessee, baybee.
    To say I’m jealous is an understatement as I know it will be a great evening.

  2. In your 4.5 degrees of separation, remember I first introduced you to Kerry Woo, whose son turns out to be friends with your son.

    Also, there are some wonderful liberal/progressive bloggers in West Tennessee, aside from the wonderful ones you already know. I hope you have a chance to see them. (Left Wing Cracker, Polar Donkey, Wintermute, Freedonian, etc)

    I’ve noticed a lot of Nashville bloggers get a bit myopic when they see the WKRN meetups as THE center of Tennessee bloggers. I say this with no malice toward them or people involved with their meetups, it’s just that there are sooooooo many more people who don’t go to their meetups who are wonderful people and worth getting to know.

  3. Have fun in Memphis, John…give my regards to The King…

  4. I fully expect that eventually I’m going to find out that one of the Nashville or Rutherford County bloggers has some connection to someone else I know well, just comes from knowing so many people all over the state plus so many from up there or who moved there. Somebody’s neighbor or cousin or co-worker will turn out to be my roommate from college or something like that.

    But for you to have not only known someone I know in Memphis, but someone who’s been a good friend of mine for 15+ years – that was just WILD. Of course, the icing on the cake of this whole story is the fact that our mutual friend is such a character himself anyway! Going to be a lot of fun hanging out with you two tomorrow night and looking forward to it!

    Next plan is coming to N-town sometime after the holidays and hopefully getting to see and meet many more of you folks! (And don’t worry, Newscoma – you and I are gonna throw down sometime in January no doubt, whether it’s here or up there!)

  5. Alicia,
    Wonderdawg is Kerry Woo. (His site is Wonderdawg777.blogspot.com)

    He loves tech gadgets and know his music trivia. More importantly, he strikes me as a kind, loving person who is very devoted to his family.

    I think he was either the organizer or co-organizer of the last Nashville blogger meetup.

Leave a Reply

