Oscar-lated..the nominees are…

For Best Picture: Babel, The Departed, Letters from Iwo Jima, Little Miss Sunshine, The Queen

I enjoyed Babel a lot more than at least one other person, even though ‘enjoy’ is probably not the right word. Haven’t seen ‘Iwo Jima’ or ‘The Queen’ (is that about Elton John?), but ‘Little Miss Sunshine is certainly worthy. I gotta go with ‘The Departed’. A great bookend to the criminally oscar-overlooked ‘Goodfellas’, ‘The Departed’ deserves to give the master, Scorcese, the Best Picture Oscar, along with the ridiculously overdue ‘Best Director’ Oscar.

Yeah, ‘The Departed’ is pretty bloody violent, but I appreciate that fact. Violence, killing and mayhem shouldn’t be cartoonish (unless your name is Taratino). DiCaprio really does shed the pretty boy tag with this film.

Go Scorcese…if Three6Mafia can come home with the golden fleece, why can’t Marty?

3 Comments

Filed under movies

3 responses to “Oscar-lated..the nominees are…

  1. deb

    I liked The Departed, too.
    Haven’t seen Little Miss Sunshine or Babel yet but my daughter highly recommended Sunshine to me just this weekend. Guess I’ll watch it via Netflix ;~)

  2. I’m such a loser — The only one I have seen is Sunshine. I loved it, but not sure that it was ‘big’ enough to take best picture.

  3. I have to agree on Departed. I think it was three scenes away from being a classic. I’m a little surprised that I’ve heard/read nothing of Matt Damon’s performance in the movie as I thought him every bit as good as Dicaprio. And wasn’t Nicholson typically divine?

    Enjoyed Babel and Little Miss Sunshine very much. Little Children is also very much worth your time. I couldn’t be more thrilled for JEH (aka Kelly Leake). The creepiest performance I’ve seen in a long while.

    Best to you,
    Ryan

Leave a Reply

