Arrested Plagarism

I was reading your my Tennessean this morning, perusing the Living section when I came across this story about NBC’s ‘other show’ about Saturday Night Live – 30 Rock. Tina Fey, the star of the show, is discussing a comic turn in an upcoming episode:

The looniness of 30 Rock rings clear in the lips-scrunching phrase “rural juror.” “It came out of a discussion in the writers’ room last June,” explained Tina Fey, auteur and star of the NBC comedy. “I said, ‘You know what two words I cannot pronounce properly?’

Uh, no..well maeby. If you are a fan of the late great Arrested Development, you probably recognize ‘rural juror’ as a movie produced by Maeby within the show. The inability of the show’s cast to say ‘rural juror’ was a running gag throughout the episode.

I’ve got 50 bucks and my Season 1, 2, and 3 copies of my Arrested Development CDs that the writers of ’30 Rock’ may, just may, have seen the same episode I did. Ya think?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Arrested Plagarism

  1. You Arrested-Development-watching-watchdog, you!

    ObGob: Come ON!

  2. KC

    What is this ‘Arrested Development’ show you speak of? I don’t think I’ve ever heard of such a program.

  3. mcgonnigle

    Arrested is the best show no one ever watched. I did a post on it some time back throwing out the idea that if it were on pay TV, it’d still be on. Sounds weird but think about it.

    I also mentioned that I thought My Name Is Earl is pretty much carrying the torch for Arrested now–you know, same style and all. Whattayathink of that?

    And I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t plug my site, but tonite, I posted something that made me laugh out loud, all by myself, as I wrote it. Trust me.
    http://mcgonnigle.wordpress.com

    great stuff. –fog

  4. KC

    “I also mentioned that I thought My Name Is Earl is pretty much carrying the torch for Arrested now–you know, same style and all. Whattayathink of that?”

    Actually, The Office has imported a great number of the writing staff from AD, as well as many of the cast.
    Kevin, Phyllis, and Andy (Ed Helms) all had small roles in AD.

    To me, The Office is most definitely the spiritual child of AD–from the shooting style, the writing style and performance style.

    But dear God, don’t I miss Gob!!!

  5. mcgonnigle

    My wife, Mrs. Pinetar, is telling me that she doesn’t dig the Office. I haven’t seen it. I’ll have to look in. Anything to the Earl-AD lineage? Am I way off? –fog

Leave a Reply

