When I’m out walking I strut my stuff yeah, I eat Wendy’s??, or, Et tu Violent Femmes…

Tonight when I was watching Jack Bauer’s latest attempt to save the world (hey, he did defuse a nuclear bomb tonight with a little help from Chloe WHILE talking with a CTU squad leader), I was somewhat patiently sitting through the commercial breaks (ok, fidgeting thru the breaks) when I heard the opening chords to ‘Blister in the Sun’, the anthemic Violent Femmes tune, and I’m thinking, cool, the Femmes are coming to town and then I look up and much to my total disgust, it’s a Wendys commercial and I’m thinking…are things really that bad for Gordon Gano?? The only blister I can think of  vis’ a vis’ Wendy’s is the one caused by the moronic ‘cook’ who didn’t feel like cooking my spicy chicken sandwich.

What’s next. Nirvana shilling for acne cream? Replacements for used cars…..arrrrrgggggggggggggggggggghhhhh.

15 Comments

Filed under music, tales of stupidity, TeeVee

15 responses to “When I’m out walking I strut my stuff yeah, I eat Wendy’s??, or, Et tu Violent Femmes…

  1. Oh, my. That stuff makes me sad. I guess Gordon needs the money.

    I feel your pain, though, I’ve had that nightmare. I think a little piece of me died with each of these, heh:

    The Cult Sells Out

    The Buzzcocks Sell Out

    More of The Buzzcocks Selling Out

    The Breeders Sell Out

  2. Jon

    Do the bands even have a say in it anymore or did the major label machine write those sort of rights out of the contracts?

    As for the list, we can’t forget the Ramones shilling cellphones.

  3. I would be delighted if an advertiser wanted to whore one of mine or Mr. Smiff’s songs to sell something. Even if it were feminine hygiene spray, I’d be tickled.

  4. uh, Sista – how about, ‘Did you forget God your hygiene spray today?

  5. If Nashville is talking today about feminine hygiene spray, I think that’s good reason for me to go back to bed. My boss would probably disagree tho.

  6. Hey, I met a guy from Skid Row (the band, not the social situation) outside the VA hospital yesterday.

    OK, he said he was in Skid Row, but, now that I think about it, it probably was the social situation and not the band.

    What were we talking about, again?

  7. If I were the composer of of Did You Forget God, the answer is hayell yes.

    The guy that wrote the song “Release Me” has been dead for about 30 years. His widow has lived very well just from commercial uses of that song alone. It’s rather unbelievable.

  8. Brian Ritchie

    For the fans who rightfully are complaining about the Wendy’s burger advertisement featuring Blister in the Sun. Gordon Gano is the publisher of the song and Warners is the record company. When they agree to use it there’s nothing the rest of the band can do about it, because we don’t own the song or the recording. That’s showbiz. Therefore when you see dubious or in this case disgusting uses of our music you can thank the greed, insensitivity and poor taste of Gordon Gano. It is his karma that he lost his songwriting ability many years ago, probably due to
    his own lack of self-respect as his willingness to prostitute our songs demonstrates. Neither Gordon (vegetarian) nor me (gourmet) eat garbage like Wendy’s burgers. I can’t endorse them because I disagree with corporate food on culinary, political,
    health, economic and environmental grounds. However I see my life’s work trivialized at the hands of my business partner over and over again, although I have raised my objections numerous times. As disgusted as you are I am moreso.
    Sincerely,
    Brian Ritchie

  9. Holy cow.

    I always knew I liked Brian Ritchie, and one of my good friends (Julie formerly in Memphis) he & Victor DeLorenzo hung out with once confirmed that those two are good guys.

    Very impressed that Brian has addressed the situation in this manner – sorry to hear of the actualities of the situation though in any case.

    I know such stuff often happens when you have a group of artists together like this and money is often the driving force behind such turmoil, it kind of stinks when people that are thought of as “a group” are not able to make decisions as a group that are fair to all and benefits all, due to things like greed and insensitivity of one of the group, as Brian pointed out here. Sorry he is having to deal with that.

  10. Pingback: We don’t get too many Violent Femmes in these part, or, you DON’T want fries with that? « Salem’s Lots

  11. Wow. And agreed Mr. Ritchie.
    Wendys is gross to me too. And cool for you speaking your mind over here at Salem’s Lot.

  12. I know that you made this comment on other blogs, Mr. Ritchie, but I’d just like to say…i’m a big fan, uh..

    thanks for taking the time to comment here. When you add it up..your music still is among the best.

  13. Pingback: Blister In The Sun « Newscoma

Leave a Reply

