Cool School??? or, if you can define it, it probably isn’t cool

Most of us at one time or the other in our lives aspire to ‘cool’ or want to be around cool or to at least have a passing acquaintance with cool. Our city fathers apparently wanna quantify ‘cool’ as if it were an element on the periodic table. Apparently, the Chamber of Commerce have started something called ‘Cool School’ to help businesses attract the demographic with the disposable bucks and to keep em’ coming back.

Let me stipulate the obvious – I’m not cool, but I think I know a thing or two about it based on my time on this planet. Holding something called ‘Cool School’ isn’t cool. It may be good bizness, but it ain’t cool. It’s like when Katie Couric or Time magazine uses the ‘latest’ slang. When they use the word, it is so totally passe’.

Truth is, if you try hard to be cool, you aren’t. If you academically break it down, cool disappears. Cool just IS. Miles Davis was cool. The Prisoner TV show was cool. Your definitions might be different, but I can tell you, don’t try to build a business on just cool.

My advice: walk around 5 Points in East Nashville. Right now…that’s coolville, but when it gets co-opted…somewhere else will emerge. Cool transitions, and evolves. If you are sure you have it, you don’t.

Not that I have any room to talk…………

4 Comments

Filed under irony may be the shackle of youth but I love it, pop cults

4 responses to “Cool School??? or, if you can define it, it probably isn’t cool

  1. Next up: Woodbine.

    Don’t laugh. Check back with me in five years. Oh, if I only had a hundred grand lying around.

  2. Mack

    Yo, cuz, word. Straight up gospel from my man John H. Furreal.

  3. Mack

    How’d THAT taste, Couric?

  4. At first I scoffed at the idea of having to instruct people on what’s “cool.”

    Then I thought… “I wonder if they’re hiring?”

    Unemployment has rendered me desperate!!!

Leave a Reply

