Stress points, or, it’s what’s being served in the blog-a-teria

Seems there is a whole lotta stress shakin’ going on if a few key blogs can be considered barometers. I once read an article somewhere about how you can assign stress points to events such as weddings, divorces, job change, job loss, moving, empty nesting, new baby, etc.

The article assigned a set amount of points to each event, with the idea that a certain total ought to lead to counseling or therapeutic treatment, with another threshold leading to brain-shredding explosiveness.

I’m not explosive yet, but this last week has been something else. My work group has been moved to new confines. Moving on any level sucks rocks. The move is just a matter of incremental steps and will be over at a finite point in the near future. A much more stressful piece of news is the fact that our work group is being reorganized and placed under different supervision*. I love my supervisor. I love my current bureau. I can’t state that fact any other way.

Other events that I’m going to no longer discuss except under threat of gun-play have certainly contributed to said stress.

Today, Lynn and I returned to East End United Methodist. For many years the idea of ‘church’ was anathema, a cauldron of boring stew, with renewable guilt. I think people need community and accountability and forgiveness and safe havens. That’s what church SHOULD be…

Today, a few simple words in a confessional prayer pierced me deeply,

‘we know that change happens every day, but we don’t like changes in traffic patterns or in the church or in what feels comfortable’.

As Grandmaster Flash once said…Here’s a MESSAGE for you. Transformation is part of the deal, and you can accept it, reject it or ignore it. I’m 54 and I really really don’t like changes that effect me personally and consequentially. I’m Newton’s law personified. I like changes in the weather, changes in music, changes in transportation, but I want to live in my own damn comfort zone, thank you very much.

Here’s a few other things I don’t particularly care for:

Your will be done. Turn the other cheek. Love your enemy.

Right now, I’m really wanting to ignore those principles totally. Right now, I need to listen to Sam Cooke, open my heart and accept that not only a change is going to come, but I’ll be all the better for that change.

But, sweet fancy Moses…I don’t have to enjoy it..

*I love my job. I’m not complaining about my job. I’m not overworked, but I have lots to do and I love that.

8 Comments

Filed under friends and family, golden rule stuff, self-referential nonsense, self-worth

8 responses to “Stress points, or, it’s what’s being served in the blog-a-teria

  1. John, it sure can be painful when we are being “stretched” as people, huh? Hang in there, my friend…”this too shall pass.” 🙂

  2. “Sweet fancy Moses”… you come up with best things like that.

    Hang in there and :: hug ::

  3. As a “young-un” (you are technically old enough to be my father), I dread change, too. Yes things like the weather and music and fashion (my personal one) should change but it’s hard for me to accept the changes that personally impact my comfortable little life.

    Peace to you my friend.

  4. Lynnster – ‘sweet fancy moses’ comes from a Seinfeld episode where Elaine ‘dances’. The expression is based on her utterly horrible moves on the dance floor.

    Malia – get off my yard, you kids! I’m trying to listen to the Weather Channel!

    Thanks to all..

  5. I could have used that sermon myself. The only good thing about getting totally stressed out is finding the catalyst that puts it all in perspective.

    Hang in there.

  6. For over 30 years I experienced several life threatening chronic illnesses. Through the Grace of God I was lead to several people and organizations that aided me in understanding, positively dealing with and transforming these illnesses. For the past few years I have devoted my life to sharing what I have learned with others. The two most impactful organizations I was lead to are The Institute of HeartMath (www.emotionalmastery.com) and Landmark Education (www.landmarkeducation.com).

    The American Institute of Stress and The Centers for Disease Control have both reported that up to 90% of all illnesses are due to stress. I was lead to The Institute of HeartMath in 1997 and discovered that all of my illnesses were due to stress I had been experiencing in my life. Through learning and practicing HeartMath’s tools and technologies, I am able to prevent, manage and reverse the effects of stress, in-the-moment, achieve better health, more energy, improved mental and emotional clarity, and improved performance and relationships. HeartMath’s tools and technologies are scientifically substantiated; they literally saved my life.

    Landmark Education provided me with the knowledge and tools to identify and put in my past, barriers that were stopping me from living a powerful life and a life I love. Through this Education, I have reached an unshakeable Faith.

Leave a Reply

