Oedipus welcomes back Cotter, or, America Idles

Ok..if you are going to dedicate a song to your parents, is Marvin Gaye’s ‘Lets Get it On’ really really the choice you wanna make? I don’t know anyone who even wants to THINK about their parents having sex, much less encourage such a thing.

Weirdly, at least to me, Jared Cotter, one of ten remaining American Idol males, thought otherwise. Yikes…

I didn’t see much of the show tonight because of other more important things to do, but the stuff I heard was better than last week’s abysmal outing, but that’s kinda like saying a rock in your shoe is not as bad as a gaping head wound.

The ‘beat-box’ guy did a passable version of a Jamiroquai song, but it didn’t really go anywhere. The Rogers dude sang a song which is a great pop favorite of mine, Cindy Lauper’s ‘Time after Time’, but he managed to slow it down and suck most of the tapioca out of the pudding, if you know what I mean.

I’m looking forward to hearing the real voices tomorrow night. As someone said in an earlier comment, if they took the best 12 people on the show, rather than insisting there be 6 females and 6 males, there would be 8 or 9 women singing. Sadly, justice is not lone, it’s missing.

2 Comments

Filed under all my words come back to me in shades of mediocrity, music, pop cults

2 responses to “Oedipus welcomes back Cotter, or, America Idles

  1. KC

    I’ve really got to start watching Idol again.

    Whenever you all write about it I start the posts and think “is this in English? I don’t understand what we’re talking about here?” only to realise that I am in my own little out-group.

    Blast your eyes, you cliquish Idol worshippers!!! What must one do to be included in your world?

  2. I was surprised that 17 year old guy sang “Steppin’ Out” last night…especially when he needed to blow the judges out of the water (didn’t do it), and since Tony Bennett will be guest judging this season…he should have waited. He’s so darn adorable, though, that I just don’t want him to be voted off.

    I LOVE the Jack Osbourne look-alike guy…I think he is the next “Meatloaf”… LOL

Leave a Reply

