See you in the funny papers…

I’ve asked this question to some of my newspaper friends and to my kid’s friends. It’s a question that has ominous undertones, at least for me.

Is anyone under the age of 30 reading the comics in the newspaper?

I can’t find em’ if they are. Comics have been a part of my life since I was ‘knee high to a grasshopper’ as my granny used to say. I was read ‘child-appropriate’ comics (certainly not Apartment 3-G!) before I could read. I grew up with Blondie, BC (back when it was funny and before it turned into a sermonette), Beetle Bailey, Mary Worth, and Mark Trail (and many many others). I applauded the edge of Doonesbury (not so edgy anymore, but it still has its moments) and would have given a standing ovation for the greatly missed ‘Calvin and Hobbes’.

I’ve followed the folks in ‘For Better and For Worst*’ for years and still laugh out loud at ‘Get Fuzzy’ (the best of the new breed, imo). I wondered why anyone thought ‘Mallard Fillmore’ was funny, but I appreciate the new ‘conservative’ strip ‘Prickly City’ (the ‘church of the undeniable paradigm’ is more than clever).

For years, I tried to pry the true meaning of Ernie Bushmiller’s Nancy, and then I realized it really was that stupid. But, I still read the ‘funnies’ every day, and I guess my question is, am I showing my age, betting on the ‘dodo’ to make a comeback, setting myself up for a sans comic fall, or just enjoying the embers of a dying art?

*Hey Lynn Johnston, do you really have to do this???

11 Comments

Filed under Huh?, pop cults

11 responses to “See you in the funny papers…

  1. jag

    I don’t get the paper, so I read my comics online. When I’m at my parents’ house though, I revel in getting out the Living section and settling in at the counter in the kitchen with a bowl of soup or something and the comics and Dear Abby. It’s one of my very favorite things.

    As for FBOFW, I’m still torn over the new platform. I’d rather it be this way than over, definitely, but, eh. I don’t know what I’m trying to say. Ask KC – her opinion on it is likely mine too.

  2. KC

    Like jag I read the comics online.

    As for the “new” FBOFW, I don’t think I’m a fan. I love the Pattersons, love their antics, etc. I want to see Liz with Anthony.

    But the “new” thing looks and sounds too much like a clip show.

  3. Lisa

    I really like to read the comics too, but since they’re the only thing I really do read from the paper, I don’t get it anymore. I didn’t know you could read them online, so I’m going to have to check that out (I’m so out of it!). I also didn’t know that FBOFW was changing, so I guess I’ll have to see about that too (like I said, I’m really out of it!). Hope you’re doing well.

  4. Scout

    Oh, you bet. As often as I can get my hands on them.
    I go straight for the classics…..Peanuts, Family Circus, Garfield……but, I also like me a good Boondocks every so often for a great shot of controversy. I try to practice eclecticism concerning the art of comic reading.:-)

  5. My dad called them “the Funnies”. Course, he was born in 1926…

    I used to read them religously every single Sunday and #2 gets into them now. I didn’t know they were online. Duh.

  6. It’s the first thing my 64 year old father-in-law reads in the paper, everyday.

  7. I always loved the Family Circus. I think it was because it was inside a circle and it looked cool. Plus, there wasn’t a whole lot of reading, or piecing together a string of ‘blocks’. I’m a simple girl…
    I don’t read the comics much these days. Shoot, I don’t read the paper much these days. Do they still MAKE paper? I’ve been sucked into the Internet for so long I was starting to think pixels were becoming a major trade industry akin to tobacco and wheat.

  8. Pingback: Nashville is Talking » Threads & Thimbles

  9. Very funny, Malia, very funny. say, do you know where my Malox bottle got to?

  10. funny papers & both crosswords but online

  11. Of course I do, it’s in the last place you set it down and you’ll find it in the last place you look!

Leave a Reply

