A question I wish I had asked the mayoral candidates (and one all of them should answer)..

If my neighbor and friend S-townMike had been at any of the blogger-meat-ups with the mayoral candidates, I’m pretty sure he would have asked some version of the following question:

What is your position on the Metro Council “infrastructure” funds that the Council gave itself to spend on pet patrons out of previously uncollected property taxes”?

It’s a question that needs to be addressed. Too often these public funds have been funneled to private organizations that don’t meet public needs. In some cases the funds were intended for organizations in which the sponsoring council-person was a member or even executive.

We have too many public parks that need upgrades. We have too many sidewalks that need repair, and we still have streets that flood every time we have a smattering of rain. Let’s put the bucks back into the public sector.

I’d really like to know where each mayoral candidate stands on this issue.  I’m sorry I didn’t ask the question when I was with Briley and Dean.  If I am invited to meet with any other candidates, the question is GOING to be asked.

4 Comments

Filed under politics

4 responses to “A question I wish I had asked the mayoral candidates (and one all of them should answer)..

  1. Katherine Coble

    I’d imagine that, as with almost any politician, their positions given verbally to you at a quasi-informal lunch meeting will be quite different than their position held behind closed doors with cronies.

    Not that I’m an avowed cynic or anything…

  2. Kat – your jaded cynicism slays me. At least if they said one thing with the bloggers and another thing behind closed doors, the up-to-1,000 folks* that actually read blogs around here might be exposed to the difference between the words AND the actions.

    The 1,000 figure does not relate to anything I’ve ever written.

  3. Pingback: Nashville is Talking » Position Please?

  4. Katherine Coble

    “he up-to-1,000 folks* that actually read blogs around here might be exposed to the difference between the words AND the actions.”

    Or at least Channel 5 could pretend that they broke the story on the inconsistancies.

Leave a Reply

