I had a dream, along with FEARLESS Idol predictions..

I won’t belabor my illness any further, at least beyond this post, but I’m asking any of you who watched American Idol last night (I THINK I did):

Did Frederico Fellini take over the contest and somehow make Sanjaya’s head look like something out of a bad Patti Labelle hair look-a-like contest? I may have been delirious what with the meds I’m taking, so even though I know that nothing at this point could get Sanjaya voted off of this stupid show, I am pretty sure I was hallucinating, right??

I’m pretty sure I was dreaming because Idol seemed to showcase an artist from the 21st century, an oddly demure Gwen Stephani, who actually seemed to give people pretty decent advice, which was also seemingly ignored. Couldn’t they find Billy Ocean or Billy Idol or Pablo Cruise?

Anyway, I was fully awake to hear Haley butcher a great Cindie Lauper tune, and to hear Chris ‘I may be going home tonight’ Sligh miss pretty much every possible beat on the Police chestnut, ‘Every Little Thing’, with the key word being TRAGIC instead of MAGIC.

Melinda is a better ballad/torch singer than an uptempo singer, but even with that fact, Jack, she still stood out, towering over the rest with a great rendition of Donna Summer’s ‘Heaven Knows’.

The singer pulling up on the outside of the track is Gina..she did the Pretenders well last night, and I think she deserves to stick around for a while, that is, if the carnival of the absurd doesn’t make peacock-head Sanjaya the ‘la dolce voca’ of American idolatry.

Finally, IRON-CLAD PREDICTION: Either Chris Sligh or Haley will go tonight. Sanjaya is safe for another day and another whack. Where’s David Copperfield when you need him?

2 Comments

Filed under music, pop cults, tastelessness abounds, TeeVee

2 responses to “I had a dream, along with FEARLESS Idol predictions..

  1. sanjaya lives on. sadness reigns.

  2. oh, call me contrary. but since i don’t watch the show and don’t like what i did watch of it, i am sorely tempted to shell out major buckage and phone in votes each week for the Indian Boy. He could be Michael Jackson’s replacement.

Leave a Reply

