Opening day, or, if I was king of the world (or maybe Fred Thompson)

If I was the king with the stentorian tones of Fred ‘is he running’ Thompson, I would declare that the opening of the baseball season would be today.  THE first game would be played in daylight.  Sunday night might be an exhibition, but baseball starts at 1:00 PM on the first Monday in April.

If I were king of the world, opening day would be a national holiday. People around the nation would eat hot dogs (veggie dogs for the so inclined).  Kids wouldn’t be caught dead near a school…many would be at the ball park.  Subtle indoctrination into the game that used to help define our national fabric might bring the kids back to the game.

Parades would be held.  Players would descend from their well-manicured estates and privileged mindsets to actually mix with the hoi polloi.   The honor of the ceremonial first pitch would be newsworthy.

Until then, I’ll observe the opening day tradition my friends and I have held for more than twenty years.  Back before there were Sports Bars, inns and taverns had small TVs mounted on the wall by the bar, always with the sound off, always with the game on.

Brown Diner, was, and is, our tavern of choice.  The TVs are minuscule compared to the usual sports bar fare.  The food choices are limited, but the place just feels right for opening day.   So, once again this year, we’ll celebrate opening day with a cheeseburger, good company and 19 inch screen TVs.   Good times.

Play ball….

2 Comments

Filed under baseball

2 responses to “Opening day, or, if I was king of the world (or maybe Fred Thompson)

  1. I have not checked in here for a while because I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are really great quality so I guess I will add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend. 🙂

  2. CFD

    Hiya, I am really glad I’ve found this info. Today bloggers publish only about gossip and net stuff and this is actually irritating. A good site with exciting content, that’s what I need. Thank you for making this site, and I will be visiting again. Do you do newsletters? I Cant find it.

Leave a Reply

