Blogs that make me think so much sometimes my head hurts..

I was generously tagged by my buddy Newscoma as one of the blogs that made her think. I suspect she is feeling charitable towards the older blogger element and selected me. Nonetheless, I appreciate the gesture.

It would be rude of me not to pass the honor along, and also not to post the following:

Should you choose to participate, please make sure you pass this list of rules along to the blogs you are tagging.

The participation rules are simple:

1. If, and only if, you get tagged, write a post with links to 5 blogs that make you think,
2. Link to this post so that people can easily find the origin of this award,
3. Optional: Proudly display the ‘Thinking Blogger Award’ with a link to the post that you wrote.

I don’t see anywhere that it says not to nominate folks that have already been nominated so I’m going with five blogs that make me think. Needless to say, there are many more than five that fit the bill, but my head hurts too much right now to be a rebel. Never-mind the pain, I”m rebelling anyway.

1.Sam Davidson – He’s a young dynamo. He’s a thinker, a doer, and a lot of fun. I feel honored to hang with Sam and his wonderful wife Lynnette on a weekly basis (The Story). His weekly posts on Darfur and his ‘Cool People Cares’ organization are important touchstones of my Internet experience.

2. Aunt B – Actually nobody writes more thought-provoking interesting honest-to-the-bone stuff than Nashville’s own ‘Aunt B’. My life has been enriched by not only her blog but also by her friendship. She is thoughtful, supportive, outrageous, and always remembers the Neil Young dictum – ‘rust never sleeps’.

3. Ginger of GingerSnaps – When I first met Ginger, I thought she was another nice mommy blogger who was a fellow Titan’s fan. Nothing against mommy bloggers, but my kids are grown. What I’ve discovered since we first met is that Ginger has a LOT to say and she says it so very well. From thoughts on the death penalty to family travails to her tales of ‘tragedy’, she brings a lot to the blogger-table at the cafeteria. I’m also honored to say that Ginger has become a very good friend of mine and Lynn’s. I wouldn’t put her on this list just because she is such a good friend, but having a good friend who really makes you think is such a gift.

4. Kat Coble – pound for pound one of the best writers in the blog-a-teria. I disagree with her on many levels, but it really matters not one iota. She is open about her Christianity and writes about her faith in such a way as to not be off-putting or putting on pious airs. She’s honest about her struggles and displays more faith than I can muster. She is a great example of the kind of person I strive to become. Plus, she’s a zealous Warren Zevon fan…on that we totally agree.

5. Sarcastro – I almost didn’t put him on the list, not because he isn’t an amazing writer and funny-as-hell, but because daddy-duties are keeping him away from the blog-a-teria. But, he shows up enough. Sarcastro doesn’t flinch and he doesn’t have a politically correct bone in his body. He challenges my lefty-ways without making me feel like I’m a new strain of pondscum. Kudos to the Daddio.

6. Huh..I thought he was only supposed to list 5! I don’t care. It’s my blog. S-townMike is my friend and neighbor and has shaped our neighborhood more than anyone else on the block or the next block or the next block. He knows more about Nashville’s city council than probably many of the members. He’s caustic, witty, and has hewn hyper-local blogging to a sharp edge. He’s the reason I started blogging (but please don’t hold THAT against him!).

7. Coyote Mack Daddy Amigo Padre – Rick, the Mack Daddy of Coyote Chronicles sandbagged a bunch of us one evening when we were invited to have a discussion about immigration over beers and enchiladas at AlleyCats. He led us all to the plight of Claudia Nunez. I didn’t mind the sandbagging whatsoever. He’s a lot more eloquent than what he let’s on, and I’ve never read one of his posts that didn’t open my eyes or heart. I think he nominated me for this, as well. I appreciate the nod, but would have put his name ‘up’ even if he didn’t know I existed.

8. Lindsey of Theo-Geo. She’s a great photographer and can work though an issue like a sharp blade cutting though cheese. I love her bold feminist fiskings and her view of the world. She’s half my age (actually, depressingly less), but I’ve learned a lot reading her on a daily basis. Plus, I had a great time eating Huey burgers with her down Memphis-way.

I’m also a big fan of the Newscoma. She leads with her heart, even though she’s a true journalist.

I’m grateful for all these folks and many many more.

And finally, my daughter Erin. She doesn’t blog enough, but she’s got a couple of other things to do, and she doesn’t have a lot of computer access. She’s always challenged me, and I know I’m biased, but I love the kid.

5 Comments

Filed under blogs about blogs, friends and family

5 responses to “Blogs that make me think so much sometimes my head hurts..

  1. John,
    I picked you because you deserve it and you mean a lot to me.
    Sorry if that’s weird, but you do because you are cool,
    Trace aka newscoma

  2. Awwwww! Thank you so much, John. The ONLY reason I didn’t nominate you was because I was trying to nom people who hadn’t been already. Otherwise, you would be #1 fo sho!

    Your friendship means so much to me. It has been a solid rock and at the same time a soft place to land. Just when I needed you most. Thank God for you.

    That you respect my writing totally jazzes me SO much, because the respect I have for you is immeasurable!

    Thank you.

  3. Wow. Thanks!

    Although I’m saddened that I can’t convert you to the tank-owning, gun-toting, pot-toking libertarian crowd, I’m glad to know you think I think. ;-p

    And I’m in very good company with others on your list as well.

    Thanks again. Stuff like this makes up for The Rest of the Week.

  4. Thanks, John. It’s awesome to be on your list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

