A time to mourn…

Someone you know, or someone who is connected to someone you know is intimately connected with the horror that occurred today at Virginia Tech.   This is a day to mourn.   This is a day to pray or meditate for the families and friends of those who were massacred today.  This is a day to pray for the wounded.   This is not the day to argue guns or issue polemics.  That day will come.   This is a day for quiet humility and tears.    This is not the day to beat your chest and archly opine.

April is a damn cruel month.

10 Comments

Filed under sheer evil

10 responses to “A time to mourn…

  1. Pingback: Nashville is Talking » Local Reactions to Virginia Tech Shooting: A Round-Up

  2. Amen! I can’t believe how many blog comments I’ve read today that are arguing back and forth on gun control. Can’t we just take a day to pray before we start taking matters into our own feeble hands?

  3. I’m with you on this.
    I can’t even post about it right now.

  4. Thank you, John. Yes, today is a day of tears and prayers.

  5. Lesley

    John, I understand what you’re saying, but I can’t help but think that we’re all within our right to express how we feel about this. Just as you’re right to wish that we didn’t. Certainly, some people will cross the line of taste and respect but I’m guessing those people don’t read your blog anyway. 🙂

    I said my piece, but I don’t plan to argue with anyone.

  6. Lesley – I certainly don’t intend to abridge rights (even if I could!). I hate that people start exploiting this tragedy for their particular political position. This is not a tragedy of the left, right or middle. It’s our tragedy.

    I’m also guessing that people on all sides of this issue regularly don’t read my blog!!

  7. Yes, absolutely, John, I totally agree.

  8. Pingback: Nashville is Talking » The Day After: A Round-Up

Leave a Reply

