Spiderman, Spiderman, all too human, Spiderman

We watched Spiderman 2 on tee-vee last night.  I loved S-2.  Not so much the original and I’m not hearing much good about S-3.   When I was a kid and all the goodie-goods were reading Superman and Batman, my buddy Kimble and I squirreled away with our Marvel pals: Fantastic Four and Spiderman.

Spidey was my guy.  The writers totally got the pre-adolescent mood swings, the walking-on-air-kicking-ass-with-my-new-keds  followed by the plane being shot down by a snub from the cute girl down the row in home room.   Every kid believes he can soar, and every kid has doubts and every kid (and person) has these tapes that tell them that maybe they aren’t really all that hot.  It could have been a jerk baseball coach.  It might have been a teacher who didn’t take the time or a preacher who just didn’t get much of anything.  You want to fly, but there are so many people who’d love to see you down on the ground or down in the pit.

Ya wanna be a hero, and maybe for a few minutes you are…to your kids, to the person you picked up on the side of the road when their car was over-heated, but in less than a minute your kids see you as human and the guy behind you is honking because you aren’t paying attention to the split second that the light turned green and the boss that loves you retires and a new order beckons.

You can still be a hero, but you can more easily fall short.  You believe and you doubt.  All of that is to say why I love Spiderman…a human super-hero.

5 Comments

Filed under derring-do, journey, pop cults

5 responses to “Spiderman, Spiderman, all too human, Spiderman

  1. Pingback: Nashville is Talking » You’ll always be a hero to me, John.

  2. Spidey 2 is my favorite of the Spider-Man films and the best superhero movie ever made. Loved every last second of it and I am even such a fan I plunked down another ten bucks for Spider-man 2.1 on DVD.

    That said, I would cautiously recommend Spidey 3. Not as good as Spidey 2, but pony up and see it on the IMAX before that Potter movie replaces it in a week or so.

Leave a Reply

