Clique-ity clack, or Ridin’ the Bozo bus

I was cool for about three minutes once when I lived in New York. Sadly that was over 30 years ago. I have a cool Keith Richards t-shirt and I know a few cool folks, but I’m about as cool as the current side of the pillow. I hear talk about blogging cliques and how people feel left out of things.

I know a lot of people in the so called Nashville blogging clique. I really like most of them, but folks, these people generally aren’t your party, seen in the Scene, Ricky Lee Jones Coolsville denizens. They are wonderful and many of them write as if they were born to the craft, but folks, there are a lot of social wallflowers in that patch. Many of us blog because we don’t really know how to say out loud what we think we know or what we know we feel. I was frankly beyond terrified the first few times I went to blogger shindigs, because I genuinely felt that THEY were all going to be Dorothy Parker or Robert Benchley (yeah, my references date me) or Cary Grants dripping bon mots as if they were to the manner borne. But guess what…most everyone I’ve met felt the same way. I think that’s one reason why we get along.

Not that all of you are social rejects are social ‘tards. It’s just the idea of a clique that cracks me up. Here’s how you get to be one of ‘us’. You blog. You show up. You say hello. You’re pretty much in like Flynn (or Flint). There are some cool bloggers around, to be sure, but one thing that makes them so cool is that they aren’t exclusionary in the least.

Music City Bloggers started because we missed the communal blogging spirit once the domain of NIT. Somebody had to start it. Those folks couldn’t wait until all 600 Nashville bloggers got together and decided what they wanted to do. Nobody asked me to join. I just did. You could have too. Maybe we didn’t do a good job of making that clear to begin with, but hey, in the words of the great Firesign Theater – we’re all just bozos on this bus.

14 Comments

Filed under blogs about blogs, community

14 responses to “Clique-ity clack, or Ridin’ the Bozo bus

  1. Firesign Theater….

    way to remind me how old I am!

    And no doubt, Firesign Theater was great.

  2. That’s what I did, John. I just said “Need some help.”

  3. Social retards ‘r’ us!

    Well said.

  4. Can’t show up if I don’t know about an event.
    If one isn’t invited, one can’t show up.

    I think most everyone has my phone number, email and most know where I live. I’d never know that by the actions of Nashville bloggers.

    I know the time and effort I’ve put in calling people and emailing people, inviting them to various events and it has not been my experience that the Nashville blogopshere choses to include me, which would make it exclusionary.

    That all being said, I am looking forward to watching Music City Bloggers blossom into what NIT should have been, could have been, had it not been an “us against them” (Sechrist’s words to describe it) attitude. I hope MCG will be a true representation of all bloggers in the area and all bloggers in the area are included in social events as well as the online stuff, and keep the friggin drama, high school behavior and hate away.

  5. as usual, excuse the typos in my post.

  6. *had it not been an “us against them” (Sechrist’s words to describe it)*

    I sincerely doubt that.

  7. PFFT!! Dude, you are so cool!

    While not being a local … I know this … you’ve always made me feel welcomed … to post, to comment, and to be my weird self.

    I full confidence that MCB will surpass all expectations of “community”.

  8. Nice. If anyone has the right to blog this, it’s you.

    And can I volunteer to be the official MCB Social ‘Tard? Kind of like a mascot?

  9. Brittney,
    Are you calling me a liar?
    Mike and I are fine. We don’t have a problem with each other. We disagreed on some programming issues. We’re grown ups and pros, and can disagree professionally without having to tear down a person personally.
    And when it came to WKRN NIT, he did indeed say there was an “Us against them” attitude when we talked about the “gang,” there.
    I don’t appreciate you calling me a liar. That was part of one (of many) conversations Mike and I had.
    Where I have been wrong I have admitted it. It would be nice if you a few others would do the same.

  10. PS–
    Out of everything I said, Brittney didn’t address all the pain I’ve been caused, she only accused me of lying.

    She made my point for me better than I did.

  11. graceless24

    Many of us blog because we don’t really know how to say out loud what we think we know or what we know we feel. I was frankly beyond terrified the first few times I went to blogger shindigs, because I genuinely felt that THEY were all going to be Dorothy Parker or Robert Benchley

    Exactly. well said!

  12. Pingback: thinktrain » Local Links: Farewell Flugtag, hello dragon boats

Leave a Reply

