Arggggggggggggggggghhh – Stop with the freakin’ generalizations

If a person believed everything he/she read* and they only read conservative to right-right-wing blogs and talk shows you’d believe that liberals were illogical, america-haters, godless, semi-treasonous, responsible for the decline in American civilization as well as losing the Vietnam war, irresponsible, bad lovers, and a whole lot more, but this illogical liberal brain can’t remember any more.

What brought this on? Don Surber, a respected and genial blogger of the conservative bent, makes the following statement in a post about bloggers ‘owning’ the comments on their blog:

Of course, liberals never accept personal responsibility

good grief. Do you know all liberals, Don? Do you know me? Do you claim that Bobby Kennedy never accepted responsibility, or even .50% of all liberals? I am so sick and tired of people stating that ‘______________’ are all ANYTHING. It’s sloppy. It’s red meat to the sychophants, but little else.

And another thing..you state that a blogger ‘owns’ the comments made on his or her blog? Yeah, as a blog owner, I can delete comments, and I have on one or two occasions when the commentary was cruel. But the logical conclusion from your argument is to say a blogger is responsible for a commenter calling him ‘deranged’ and ‘irrational’. I’d leave those type of comments on my blog if the writer was talking about me, but I certainly don’t take responsibility for them. That’s why they’re called comments..commentary on the post. I know you are specifically targeting obscene and vile comments, but the ‘ownership’ implication seems to be far fetched.

*You don’t know how much I would love to believe that Hillary really did name Bigfoot as her running mate. Alas, the World News Weekly is going the way of the dodo.

15 Comments

Filed under blogs about blogs, Huh?

15 responses to “Arggggggggggggggggghhh – Stop with the freakin’ generalizations

  1. Don’t bring up WWN, man.
    I’m grieving here.
    Bigfoot and Hillary, I was digging it.

  2. Pingback: Music City Bloggers » Blog Archive » “Of Course, Liberals Never Accept Personal Responsibility”

  3. Red meat for the sycophants. There it is, buddy. They are playing to their readership.

  4. News 2 Me

    “…liberals were illogical, america-haters, godless, semi-treasonous, responsible for the decline in American civilization as well as losing the Vietnam war, irresponsible, bad lovers, and a whole lot more…”

    What’s your point?

  5. “[L]iberals [are] illogical, america-haters, godless, semi-treasonous, responsible for the decline in American civilization as well as losing the Vietnam war, irresponsible, bad lovers, and a whole lot more.” <– that pretty much sums it up!

    We’re forty years into the Great Society. The federal government has spent over ONE TRILLION DOLLARS on various “welfare” programs, and there’s just as much poverty now as there was in 1965. A couple of generations of Americans have had their self-worth and self-initiative destroyed by redistrobutionist schemes, but do you ever hear a liberal say, “We was wrong. It ain’t workin'” …? Of course not. Being a liberal means never having to say I’m sorry.

  6. Pingback: Volunteer Voters » Nobody Knows Anybody. Not That Well.

  7. Yup, I would have to agree with you: This guy overgeneralizes. Overgeneralization is dangerous. A person has to be careful.

    It’s things like this that give the rest of us “conservatives” a bad rep. Just like some things stupid liberals say give the good Democrats a bad rep.

    There’s gotta be one in every camp.

  8. Joe – the day that the ‘Great Society’ can be pinned on me, then perhaps I’ll accept some of the blame for the parts that went wrong. I am sick of people saying that ‘all liberals’ are _______ (anything). Nonsense. Just as stupid to say that all conservatives really hate poor people.

    And, personally, I’m grateful that people living below the poverty line have access to medicaid and that seniors don’t have to spend their last dime on health care. But, I can’t say I’m responsible for that, either!

  9. Michael

    “If a person believed everything he/she read* and they only read conservative to right-right-wing blogs and talk shows you’d believe that liberals were illogical, america-haters, godless, semi-treasonous, responsible for the decline in American civilization as well as losing the Vietnam war, irresponsible, bad lovers, and a whole lot more, but this illogical liberal brain can’t remember any more.”

    Isn’t that a generalization?

  10. No, Michael..it’s called a list of things I’ve heard liberals called from people like Rush Limbaugh and his ilk.

  11. Michael

    Nope. It’s a generalization. You are generalizing to all conservative to “right-right-wing” blogs and talk shows. First, I doubt you’ve read (or listened) to them all in order to make that statement. Second, if you did, I’m guessing that at least one, and probably more, would say something that you find more reasonable. While the rest of that sentence does contain a list, it is one you apply to all the conservative to right-right-wing blogs and talk shows. That’s called a generalization.

  12. ok Michael – have it your way. The point of the whole piece is that I think it ridiculous for anybody, be they blogger or radio personality or columnist to make the statement that all ‘______’ are anything.

    All conservatives don’t hate poor people. All southerners are NOT racists. All liberals are not godless. That’s my point.

    And yes, I used to listen to Limbaugh. I’ve read a LOT of conservative/right wing columnists. Every one of those things in that list is something I’ve heard a person say about liberals. I don’t understand your point, but then again, maybe all liberals are just not as smart as you.

  13. Michael

    John, I’m not insulting you or other liberals. I agree that a good number of conservative blogs/talk shows attribute the listed qualities to liberals. My point is simple. You decried making generalities by making a generality.

  14. MCO

    John, I share your frustration, but I fear (or hope) that ending such generalizations and strawman arguments would eliminate about 75% of all political punditry in all kinds of media. Bloggers and other types of commentaters mostly only write for those who agree with them, and on both the left and the right this kind of chest beating gets thought of as brave and profound.

  15. Hutch –

    Hehehehe … I hadn’t gotten this far down your blog when I wrote my post this morning. Evidently great minds really DO think alike.

    Blessings,

    BCM

Leave a Reply

