The gripes of wrath – Tom Joad in bizarro world

Towards the end of Grapes of Wrath, Tom Joad (Henry Fonda) tells his mother

“…I’ll be all around in the dark. I’ll be ever’-where – wherever you can look. Wherever there’s a fight so hungry people can eat, I’ll be there. Wherever there’s a cop beatin’ up a guy, I’ll be there. I’ll be in the way guys yell when they’re mad – I’ll be in the way kids laugh when they’re hungry an’ they know supper’s ready. An’ when the people are eatin’ the stuff they raise, and livin’ in the houses they build – I’ll be there, too.”

Contrast and compare: Stacey Campfield, state legislator, un-extraordinaire, speaks of his bill that would bar entry to children of illegal immigrants to our state colleges:

I don’t think they should be here in the first place..We kick kids out of school all the time for bad behavior and criminal activity. I happen to think illegal immigration should be on that list

I’m thinking he’s probably not talking about Canadian kids here. Folks, these kids are here. We’re not going to take all 12 million folks out of their homes (AND JOBS). Being born a citizen of another country is not ‘bad behavior’, and it’s certainly not criminal. Comparing the birth passage to criminal activity is inane.

Anytime I read about a mild-to-totally goofy bill in our state legislature, I’m pretty sure whose picture is going to pop up associated with said bill. Congratulations, the ghost of Tom Joad certainly doesn’t haunt your heart or brain, Mr. Campfield.

6 Comments

Filed under golden rule stuff, politics, Race, tales of stupidity

6 responses to “The gripes of wrath – Tom Joad in bizarro world

  1. You are incredible. Know this. 🙂

  2. Wait! Where does he say this? Give me a link so that I can properly cite it when I write about this. God, what an idiot. Doesn’t he have taxes to evade?

  3. Oh, I found it in the Tennessean.

  4. Pingback: See, Kids, It’s Wrong for You to Break the Law, but Not for Campfield « Tiny Cat Pants

  5. WHAT! Campy has a heart? Campy has a brain? Since when? And who the hell let that happen?

  6. Pingback: Volunteer Voters » He Knew It

Leave a Reply

