Hey J.L. Kirk and Associates – Nobody likes a bully

I just got home from work and I was signing into my blog so that I could nominate Kat Coble as one of ‘Thinking Blogger Awards‘ deal because she always makes me think, when I ran into a firestorm.

My friend Kat and her husband visited one of those ‘headhunter’ executive job search places (J.L. Kirk) back in February.. It was not a happy experience. Kat ably conveyed her frustration at the pressure tactics deployed by the firm along with incredulity that they were asked to pay more than $4,000 freaking dollars UP FRONT. The more common practise is for the company that hires the job seeker to pay the fees to the headhunter.

Someone from JL Kirk posted a comment on Kat’s blog defending Kirk and its practices. Kat posts the response on her blog as a post. Soon afterwards, the it-shay hit the an-fay. Via high falutin’ powerful attorneys, Kat is being asked* to pull remove all posts referring to JL Kirk.

One incredibly ironic item here is that one of the posts (see above) WAS WRITTEN BY JL KIRK. Kat posted the response in its entirety without ANY editing.. Kat certainly didn’t have to extend JL Kirk the courtesy of publishing their rejoinder.

The bullying did not go un-noticed. Bloggers far and wide picked up the trail. Glen Reynolds (Instapundit) linked to the story, thus ensuring that thousands upon thousands of folks now know about JL Kirk. Nice going!

Kat is a reasonable and thoughtful person. If she chooses to take down the posts to avoid the hassle, more power…it’s her blog. And there are some awfully powerful names on those cease and desist letters. If she wants to keep the posts up, she already knows that hundreds, if not thousands of people are going to support her and further propagate the true story of how one headhunter firm handles its unhappy customers. And, I’m just taking a wild guess here, I’m guessing that there may be one or two or one hundred unhappy customers who may have a chance to re-kindle their own ire.

Way to go, J.L. Kirk!!

Brittney at NIT is tracking the developing story HERE.

Others commenting (and I’m sure this section will grow)

Aunt B

Newscoma

Say Uncle with a GREAT subject line.

Rachel from Women’s Health News

Justin Mundie

Toys In the Attic

Bill Hobbs rocks this one.

My neighbor S-townMike

My buddy GingerSnaps (you don’t want her snappin’ at YOU)

Rob Robinson’s ThinkTrain

Feline Formal Shorts (the mighty magniloquence)

Tiff Sniff speaks out

Moncks Corner Moments

The women of HomeEc101 clean UP

Krumm absolutely kills – brilliant!

Better Business Bureau opines..

Rex the master blogger speaks up

The Zero Boss zeroes in

QandO weighs in.

My Memphis buddy, the Lynnster

Silflay Hraka

Pink Kitty – claws OUT

Postscripts (Charleston, SC)

I love Glen Dean’s take on this

The Big Think

The Vol Abroad

Ben Kepple

Bridgett’s Beautiful Wickedness

Professor Bainbridge

Space for Commerce – Wisconsin heard from

Our Louisville friend – Lee

No Silence here

Kathy T

Malia

Anne witnesses

Tdaxp.com

Sean Braisted

StLRecruiting

Blake Wylie

A1 Editorials

HearItFromUs

Captains Quarters

Demand Satisfaction

Smalltalk Tidbits, Industry Rants

Rob Huddleston

The Astute Blogger

Volunteer Dispatch

Bruised Orange

Alphecca – New Verb in Town!

Sophistpundit

Synova

Patterico’s Pontifications

SaucyGirl – The Cats Demand Answers

Stackable Bards

Sharon Cobb

BabyTrollBlog

SixMeatBuffet

This fine write-up from TheRipoffReport (not specific to Kat’s case, but evidence that the ‘Kat-play’ isn’t isolated.

*if the definition of ask includes the DEMAND

23 Comments

Filed under golden rule stuff, Huh?

23 responses to “Hey J.L. Kirk and Associates – Nobody likes a bully

  1. Pingback: Nashville is Talking » A Play-By-Play: The JL Kirk & Associates Saga

  2. Pingback: The Right To Say What We Want To Say « Newscoma

  3. I swear this is the kind of thing that happens to other people in like, Chicago or something…

    I’m utterly bemused.

    Who thinks it’s a good idea to respond to accusations of intimidating behaviour with more intimidating behaviour? I do not get it at all.

    But thanks for sticking up for me. And for the whole “thinking blogger” thing. I tell you what, I’m doing plenty of thinking NOW!

  4. Don’t mess with a blogger. We are like a family, left, right, middle, whatever.

  5. Glen, you’re absolutely dead on.

  6. Pingback: Home Ec 101 » Blog Archive » The curious case of JL Kirk and Associates

  7. Pingback: KC, you have my support! « GingerSnaps

  8. Pingback: It’s Worse Than That - He’s Kirked, Jim! - from The Zero Boss by Jay Andrew Allen

  9. Pingback: rexblog.com: Rex Hammock’s weblog » Blog Archive » Bloggers and the lawyers who order them to remove posts

  10. Pingback: Dear Santa « The Lynnster Zone

  11. Pingback: When You Try to Control Free Speech « This is La Vergne, TN

  12. Pingback: The power of Kirking, or, J.L. Kirk - look what you did.. « Salem’s Lots

  13. damn all these beautiful gir. Corrina Eudora.

  14. cqkgjytmwg cqkgjytmwg cqkgjytmwgcqkgjytmwg
    cqkgjytmwgcqkgjytmwgcqkgjytmwg cqkgjytmwg

  15. Caroline Frasier

    Hi, what anti spam tool do you use? Is it working for you or..? I would really love it if you could answer this question! Regards!

  16. I saw this good dating site for Pattaya holidays today

  17. I would like to show appreciation to the writer for bailing me out of this particular issue. Right after looking out throughout the the web and obtaining techniques which are not powerful, I assumed my life was over. Being alive without the solutions to the difficulties you’ve sorted out all through this article content is a serious case, and those that might have badly affected my entire career if I had not encountered your web page.

  18. The scholars in the field of business call this
    “something special” competitive advantage. ‘ Listen to the feedback in the stories your clients
    are telling. Entrepreneurs know that they are 100% responsible for their results and assume any mistakes
    they may make.

  19. This is my first time go to see at here and i am truly happy to read all at alone place.

  20. Useful information. Fortunate me I found your website by chance, and I am shocked why this coincidence didn’t took place in advance!
    I bookmarked it.

  21. I am regular reader, how are you everybody?

    This post posted at this web page is truly good.

  22. Asking questions are really nice thing if you are
    not understanding something entirely, but this post offers
    fastidious understanding yet.

  23. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and
    was wondering what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would
    cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Cheers

Leave a comment